Consistency: A New Year

The New Year is here. 

I’m exhausted, sick, and feeling pretty gross all together.

I really just need to shower.

But I just feel like poop.

But I really just need to shower.

Okay. I’ll spend 7 minutes on this post then shower.

Much to my kitty’s sadness.

I’m quite a pillow for him at the moment.

So the trip was fun.

I got sick, had my mind blown by air travel (in a good way), shared many laughs, celebrated the New Year on the beach with some of my best friends, went to an even more fun football game, made new friends, and became more firm in my decision to leave the HMB.

Now, that last part probably isn’t what anyone expected.

My time in HMB was great, but it’s time for me to close that book and move on.

Speaking of moving on, I guess now is a good time to mention my New Year’s Resolution.

Well, I shouldn’t really call it that.

It’s something that I’ve been working on for a while now.

Mostly, just making better choices.

I think now is the perfect time as any to kind of “get my shit together”.

This year, I’m focusing on my health.

My mental health more specifically.

I’m already taking a break from school. I might as well take the steps to try to better my health all around during this time, too.

My big three areas:

1. Staying true to doctors. This means taking my medication, attending all scheduled appointments, and following through with all suggestions/advice.

2. My body. This is something I have always struggled with. Over the past 8 months, I have lost 23 pounds just with portion control. If I can keep doing little things like that, I can probably help my health overall. This includes physical and mental health. I’ll look better, feel better, and feel better about myself.

3. General cleanliness. I mean, I’m a slob. There’s no other way to put it. I’m often embarrassed by it. It negatively affects my physical and mental health. It frustrates not just me, but the people I’m around. Small steps, like joining FlyLady (per suggestion of my doctor), are what will ultimately help me reach my goals.

I am taking baby steps.

The smaller, the better for now. I know I can’t just jump straight into something, because I won’t follow through with consistency. 

I need consistency.

I need health.

Leave a Reply

