A Late Night Shift to Love

A very interesting shift tonight at the good ol’ Perkins…

I have been a server there since summer of 2011. I was fresh out of high school and had just moved out of my parents’ house. The pay (in tips) is good. But I work hard for those tips.

Recently, I’d been having with a coworker sexually harassing me. Mostly verbal stuff. I pulled him aside not too long ago though and told him I would have him written up and reported to HR if it continued. 

He’s been pretty good since then. 

But tonight, I got a rowdy crowd. It was a very late bar rush. It was a group of 7 truckers. They were fun, don’t get me wrong. One of them was convinced that he was in love with me. It was all fun. But man… this guy tried with all his might to get my number. Hell, a lot of them did. I don’t mind though. I don’t give out my number, but they meant no harm. I’d seen them in the restaurant before and knew they were just drunk. A few times I had to be stern, but usually when one would say something that crossed the line, they others would back me up saying not to talk to a lady like that. 

I just know that it would bother Calvin to no end. 

The first thing those men did is asked to see my left hand. When they saw I had no ring, they didn’t care if I had a boyfriend. I was fair game.

There is a lot of truth to that. I mean, I will remain faithful to Calvin because he is my world, but I am technically “single” in a way. 

Calvin and I have had a very serious talk recently. Another argument. I think that makes 4 serious talks/arguments for the duration of our 8-month relationship. I think that’s pretty good. 

Anyway, back on track. I’m scared. I’m scared to commit to a 2-year long-distance relationship without any promises or even an idea if he can see himself with me in the future. All he said before he left was that he saw us together through his masters. Beyond that was up in the air. Especially since I can see us going beyond that. A lot beyond that. 

This is a guy I have been in love with for 2 years already. More than that. 

He told me that he was upset that I pushed him for an answer because he was going to tell me all that soon. When I was drunk a few days ago, I wrote him this long message on Facebook just about all the reasons why I loved him and how I did and how I keep falling for him every day. Hell, he’s not perfect, but I love him. 

And he wanted to reciprocate that. Just later. I don’t know when later is, but he had his own agenda I guess. 

So, his reply was that he does see us together in the future. Into the long future. Much beyond his Masters and into his DMA, and possibly later than that too. We’ll see. 

But all of this talk of love makes me wonder how we find that “special someone”. Calvin is from Hong Kong. I’m from Iowa. How in the hell did that happen? 

Is it destiny? Is it choice? Is it fate? Is it random chance?

I don’t know, but he is my choice. He will always be my choice. I don’t care how, I just know how I’m going to try my damnedest to make it work. 

Leave a Reply

