The Project: 12 Hours Sans Music

12 Continuous Hours Without Music

10:13 AM – 

Starting this project for my Psychology of Music Class. I’m supposed to keep a recorded journal. What better way to start than by posting it on my blog as well? I should note that today I am sick with a sinus infection so I am not going to any classes. I am going to go to the store to buy my medicine as well as drive home for the afternoon/evening to do laundry at my parents’ home and to hang out with them.

12:21 PM –

I have turned the volume off on my phone. Whenever I play games on my phone, I keep the music on. Since I’m not allowed to listen to music, this means no volume on games. I also tried to start watching an episode of my new favorite TV drama, but had to stop due to the music in it.

This assignment is already proving to be quite annoying.

2:39 PM – 

I have had at least 4 different songs stuck in my head in the last 2 hours or so. This is really frustrating that I can’t listen to them. When I called Triple A (AAA) earlier to have my car jumped, I had to keep the earpiece away from my phone but check every so often to see if I had an actual person on the line while I was on hold due to the fact that they play music while you’re waiting. That was also very frustrating. All in all, I’m only about a third of the way done with this assignment and I cannot wait for it to be over. I will probably binge all night on various kinds of music from todays hits to folk music to children’s music to saxophone concertos to ACDC.

5:15 PM –

I just dug my car out of the snow for an hour after getting it jumped, put some gas in it, drove to the pharmacy to get the antibiotics to make this sinus infection go away, then drove back to my parents’ place in Muscatine. That drive was torture without being able to listen to music. I do enjoy listening to NPR, but at the time I was driving, NPR was doing some segment on an old singer and playing little excerpts of her songs in between dialogue. Talk about back luck, huh? This task is turning to be more impossible than anything. Commercials all have background music. It was a good excuse to go through the drive through at the pharmacy because inside I figured there would be music playing on the overhead speakers. Never mind. I’m sick and frustrated. Just let me have my music!! Over half way there!

6:23 PM –

Of course, the one episode of “The Big Bang Theory” I watch has Howard singing to Bernadette. Of course.

8:38 PM – 

I have had to barricade myself in the guest room to hide from music. Even on TV. We use music everywhere. In our society, it’s unavoidable in entertainment.

10:10 PM –

The end is so close, I can taste it.

10:23 PM –

It’s been over for 10 minutes. I wasn’t paying too much attention.

That was incredibly difficult. I found myself paying much more attention to the music in the background of things strictly so I could avoid it. That was incredibly difficult. Not very fun either. I had to cover my ears with these ridiculous noise-canceling headphones that my dad wears when he’s using the snow blower to watch TV with my family. We had to mute the TV at every commercial break, which actually wasn’t too bad. But of course, Super Bowl commercials would come on and my dad would want me to see them and when I asked if they had music, he’d say, “We’ll watch it later on your computer.”

Of course, I’m complaining because I was the odd one out. I had to avoid music whereas my family got to enjoy it. It makes you really think, though.

I think back to all the people that have and still ask me today what I want to do with a degree in music. It’s hard to explain how deeply music is connected to me and how I am connected to it so personally when at times I don’t even realize it. Music is so incredibly engrained in our society that we often don’t even recognize it. It adds to the suspense on our favorite TV drama. It’s in the catchy slogan of that one advertisement. We listen to it for entertainment and find it in the most unsuspecting places.

You don’t have to be a musician to appreciate the music in your life. It’s almost impossible to avoid music anywhere in our society today. My day (12 hours) without music was very bland and dull. I mean, it was kind of fun trying to avoid it. After that fun, what was left? What did I do when I had “escaped the music”?

Sat in silence.

What a boring day indeed.

Leave a Reply

